Early Years

The Quality Mark for schools was developed in 1996, and updated in 2007, to provide a framework that would promote, support and celebrate the improvement of literacy, language and mathematics, sometimes also referred to as ‘basic’ or ‘functional’ skills.

The Quality Mark is an inclusive award and this version of the guidance will help all types and sizes of early years providers achieve accreditation. It was developed in 2008, following a national pilot funded by the Quality Improvement Agency (QIA) and undertaken with local authority advisers and early years practitioners representing maintained, private, voluntary and independent providers, to make the award achievable by settings catering for babies, toddlers and young children from birth up to age 5.

It provides a framework for self-evaluation and continuous improvement of the skills, particularly in communication, language and mathematical development, of young children through activities suitable for the stage of development they have reached.


International School Award

The International School Award is a British Council accreditation scheme rewarding schools with a notable global element in their curriculum. There are three entry points for schools: Foundation, Intermediate, and Accreditation.

The scheme began in 1999 and since then, over 1000 International School Awards have been granted.

Reaccreditation per school is required every three years


Leading Parent Partnership Award

The Leading Parent Partnership Award gives schools a coherent framework to deliver effective parental engagement from early years to post-16.

Through this award, schools can meet a number of longer term success criteria, such as improved pupil progress, punctuality, attendance and behaviour and increased parental involvement in school life.

Using the evidence portfolio, leaders can easily demonstrate, to Ofsted inspectors and other stakeholders, that the school has an outstanding and sustainable programme for parental engagement.



Dyslexia Friendly School

The philosophy underpinning the Quality Mark is that changing practice to accommodate dyslexic individuals often results in good practice for everyone.

In the case of educational institutions, the British Dyslexia Association recognises that the majority of moderately dyslexic students will be taught in mainstream classrooms and by non-specialist tutors. Therefore it is important that, as well as employing appropriate teaching methods, all environments are dyslexia friendly.

The BDA’s Dyslexia Friendly Quality Mark aims to provide a framework of support and understanding for schools and other organisations within which the dyslexic individual can build on existing skills and develop new. This ensures that everyone within your organisation has a good knowledge of the needs of the dyslexic individual and that resources are available to meet such needs. This in turn is likely to lead to greater levels of achievement and retention for all learners.